Skip to Content

10 Books You Should Read if You Love Mexican Food

Sharing is caring!

Tacos are my love language. I eat guacamole by the pound. That Restaurant Style Mexican Cheese Dip is my jam! And books? Books are my way of adventure, so it's no wonder that I have a ton of my favorite books on Mexican food to share with you.

Mexican food has its own zip code and there are so many ways to make it. There is Tex-Mex, which is American food with a Mexican flair, authentic Mexican food, and then there are just Mexican inspired dishes. I should know I have made so many of these.

These 10 books I am about to share with you will definitely make you fall even more in love with Mexican food!

This post contains affiliate links.

10 Books You Should Read if You Love Mexican Food

#1 Tacos USA: How Mexican Food Conquered America

The nationally syndicated columnist and bestselling author of ¡Ask a Mexican! presents a fascinating and tasty trip through the history and culture of Mexican food in this country, uncovering great stories and charting the cuisine’s tremendous popularity in el Norte.

Link to Purchase

#2 Mexican Cooking Dude Cookbook

This updated book contains real Mexican recipes, complete with photos and instructions. Recipes include pinto beans, tacos, enchiladas, chimichangas, refried beans, arrachera steak, fish tacos, and more.

Many of the Mexican recipes include interesting stories about their origination and history. This is a perfect cookbook for beginners, those learning to cook, and experts who are looking for special dishes. This new edition has some new recipes, and tips for using multi-cookers like the Instant Pot and Ninja Foodi.

Link to purchase

#3 Tacos, Tortas, and Tamales

Discover the flavors of Mexican street food in your own kitchen

Americans are having a love affair with the taco. What began as affection for the fast-food version—that hard yellow shell filled with ground beef and mysterious yellow cheese—has blossomed into an all-out obsession for the real thing, with upscale renditions and taco trucks popping up from coast to coast.

Link to purchase

#4 Authentic Mexican from Rick Bayliss

After ten years of loving exploration, Rick Bayless, together with his wife, Deann, gave us Authentic Mexican, this now classic, easy-to-use compendium of our southern neighbor's cooking.

This all-embracing cookbook offers the full range of dishes, from poultry, meat, fish, rice, beans, and vegetables to eggs, snacks made of corn masa, tacos, turnovers, enchiladas and their relatives, tamales, and moles, ending with desserts, sweets, and beverages.

Link to purchase

#5 Taco Tuesday

Taco Tuesday features recipes beyond classic tacos sure to please everyone in your home. Try taco dips and appetizersbrunch ideascasseroles, sides, and even sweets!

  • More than 100 recipes
  • Chapters include: Party Starters, Brunch Bakes & Tastes, Never Enough Tacos, Dinner Winners, Simple Sides, and Satisfying Sweets

Link to purchase

#6 Round is a Tortilla

In this lively picture book, children discover shapes all around them: rectangles are ice-cream carts and stone metates, while triangles are slices of watermelon and quesadillas.

Many of the featured objects are Latino in origin, and all are universal in appeal. With rich illustrations, a fun-to-read rhyming text, and an informative glossary, this playful concept book will reinforce the shapes found in every child's day!

Link to purchase

#7 Let's Learn About Mexico

Head south of the border to explore a sunny world of puzzles and fun facts! Welcome to Mexico, land of tropical rain forests, volcanoes, deserts, and beaches — and a vibrant array of ancient and modern traditions.

This book introduces kids ages 6 to 10 to fascinating aspects of Mexican geography, language, food, arts, sports, and festivals. 

Link to purchase

#8 Taco Tuesday Finger Puppet Book

This silly rhyming story features a fun finger puppet toy built into the book, encouraging interactive play, hand-eye coordination, and language development in your little one. Babies and toddlers learn best when they are playing, especially when their grown-ups are in on the fun!

  • This rhyming story entertains while teaching language patterns
  • The adorable taco finger puppet encourages interactive play between little ones and their grown-ups
  • Soft plush and a rhyming story combine to provide both tactile and verbal learning opportunities
  • Practice hand-eye coordination while enjoying together time
  • Great gift for the little taco night fans in your life!

Link to purchase

#9 ¡Todos a Comer! A Mexican Food Alphabet Book

Winner of the 2017 International Latino Book Award for Best Latino Focused Children's Picture Book! Mexican food has transcended borders and has achieved great success in the United States.

This picturesque bilingual alphabet book will help children learn their alphabet while learning more about the ingredients and procedures for preparing delicious Mexican food. 

Link to purchase

#10 Tacos!: An Interactive Recipe Book (Cook In A Book)

For kids who cook in a play kitchen or a real kitchen, this interactive recipe book invites readers to chop the vegetables, mash the avocado, warm the tortillas, and more – all inside the book!

Link to purchase

Bonus Book!

Taco Life: A Spicy Adult Coloring Book

Your Ode to Tacos has arrived. Seriously. Glorify in the craveable wonders we call tacos as you color your way through this snarky Taco-obsessed book filled with pages of one-liners all taco devourers can enjoy. Oh, and some advice. This book is best served with…you guessed it. Tacos.

Link to purchase

Finally

I hope these books inspire you to get in the kitchen and make some delicious Mexican inspired dishes. Need some inspiration? Check out these recipes

Which book are you going to read first?

Celebrate Valentine's Day at These Amazing Western Ky Restaurants
← Read Last Post
The Best Pioneer Woman Recipes
Read Next Post →

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

shares